Spencer Owen (b. Los Angeles/r. Oakland) is an American rock musician. Afraid not of stylistic eclecticism -- nor of the presence of his own voice -- Owen interprets his interests and influences with careful abandon, translating them into his soulful, cerebral songmaking language. Spencer Owen Timeshare exists to speak the language in concert and on recordings. Their debut album, PRESENTATION, is being self-released on July 19, 2019.

RIYL: Jim O’Rourke, Field Music, Elvis Costello, Jane Siberry, Maxwell, China Crisis, Stereolab, Prince, They Might Be Giants.

The band (Spencer Owen Timeshare) is tight, and their live shows are surprising, fulfilling, and not, in any respect, to be missed.

Over the years, he and/or Timeshare have shared stages with Ariel Pink, James Rabbit, Wooden Wand, Raven Fenbahn, Josephine Foster, Whysp, SAFE, Ava Mendoza, Dominique Leone, Grex, LFZ, Cloud Becomes Your Hand, Wiener Kids, Mega Bog, Emma Ruth Rundle (the Nocturnes; the Headless Prince of Zolpidem), Foxtails Brigade, Bells Atlas, Once & Future Band, iji, Wildbirds & Peacedrums, Chaki, Brent Weinbach (the Legacy Music Hour), Denny Denny Breakfast, Jackie-O Motherfucker, and, needless to say, more.

Working as a solo artist, Owen has developed a semi-extensive discography, much of which has been vaulted for reasons of safekeeping, revisiting, or sanity.

Owen's music has also made its way into a number of video and film projects over the years, much of it specifically composed and scored for those projects. Notably, he co-scored and provided several original songs for the comedy-horror feature film Dude Bro Party Massacre III, produced by 5-Second Films, starring (his brother) Alec Owen, and featuring cameos from Patton Oswalt and Andrew W.K. (among others).

The original and current members of Spencer Owen Timeshare are:

  • Richard Caceres: keyboard

  • Ryan Fitzgerald: guitar

  • Alex Genco: drums

  • Eugene Marder: bass guitar

  • Spencer Owen: lead vocals, etc.

  • Joel Reber: alto saxophone

Spencer Owen Timeshare at the Cafe du Nord on 3/30/13. Photo by Nikki Collister.

Spencer Owen Timeshare at the Cafe du Nord on 3/30/13. Photo by Nikki Collister.